City-County Council History

Michael was first elected to the Council in 2007, and re-elected in both 2011 and 2015.  He has served on several committees to monitor city services and spending including Rules and Public Policy, Economics, Community Affairs, Committee on Committees and Parks.  In past years he has Chaired the Municipal Corporations Committee and the C.I.B. Task Force to rescue our Convention and Tourism Industry from bankruptcy and the loss of tens of thousands of Indianapolis jobs.

It is our pleasure to inform you that at our recent PAC meeting, the Indianapolis Professional Firefighters PAC voted unanimously to endorse your Re-election for Indianapolis City County Council.
— Henry Harris, President - Indianapolis Professional Firefighters Union Local 416
bill sign 1.JPG

Council appointed positions currently include: Member, Visit Indy (formerly Indiana Convention and Visitor’s Association) 2012 – current, and Member, I.D.I. (Indianapolis Downtown Incorporated) 2012 - current


He has worked hard to help find money to begin rebuilding the crumbling infrastructure of our city with funds from utility and parking modernization initiatives. These items were accomplished while passing a reduction in local property taxes!


After serving in 2009 as the Majority Whip, he was elected Majority Leader in 2010, and, following the 2011 power shift, as Minority Leader from 2012 – 2015, and was re-elected by his peers to continue to serve in that capacity, leading the G.O.P. Caucus in 2016.

Appointed Vice-Chairman of the Marion County Republican Central Committee in 2015, he has also served as a Ward Chairman, P.C., State Convention Delegate, State G.O.P. Platform Co-Chairman with the Lt. Governor and Volunteer. Also involved with the National Republican Committee, he was honored in the past as an “Outstanding Team Leader.”  In 2004, Michael was elected to the Lawrence Township Board and served as President of the Board of Finance.

He has served on various boards and citizen input groups including the Lawrence Township School Council, Lawrence Citizen’s School Organization and Volunteer at Crestview Elementary since 2000. LTSC Legislative Committee Chairman, 2000 - 2006, Indianapolis Public Housing Advisory Committee (later the Public Housing Board,) the Marion County Sheriff’s Citizen’s Advisory Board, Acquisitions Committee member, Benjamin Harrison Home, President of the Lawrence Township Republican Club, and selected as “Republican of the Year” in 2002. Also, College Republican President at UIndy. Received Lawrence Township Schools “Above and Beyond Award” 2008 and Marion County Republican Central Committee “Councillor of the Year” in 2014.